Thursday, 17 December 2015

3 Tier Architecture

The three tiers software architecture consists of
1.client applications
2.Application server (Middle tier):
The middle tier provides process management where business logic and rules are executed and can accommodate hundreds of users by providing functions such as queuing, application execution, and database staging.
In addition, the middle process management tier controls transactions and asynchronous queuing to ensure reliable completion of transactions. The middle tier manages distributed database integrity by the two phase commit process. It provides access to resources based on names instead of locations, and thereby improves scalability and flexibility as system components are added or moved.
3.data source
The third tier provides database management functionality and is dedicated to data and file services that can be optimized without using any proprietary database management system languages. The data management component ensures that the data is consistent throughout the distributed environment through the use of features such as data locking, consistency, and replication. It should be noted that connectivity between tiers can be dynamically changed depending upon the user's request for data and services.


The three tier architecture is used when an effective distributed client/server design is needed that provides (when compared to the two tier) increased performance, flexibility, maintainability, reusability, and scalability, while hiding the complexity of distributed processing from the user.


Post a Comment